Sunday, February 15, 2009

The Romantic Piano Concerto · Vol. 25 · MacDowell

The Romantic Piano Concerto · Vol. 25 · MacDowell
APE | Booklet | 381 MB | 2001
Seta Tanyel (piano) · BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra · Martyn Brabbins (conductor)

'Vol. 25 in this Hyperion series deserves to become a best-seller' (Hi-Fi News)

'The piano writing exudes scintillation and brilliance and seems custom-made for Seta Tanyel's lush, colourful sonority and effortless leggiero fingerwork' (International Record Review)

'Technically impeccable … vivid and well produced' (Gramophone)

'[Tanyel] can totally identify with this kind of post-Lisztian lyric bravura style' (BBC Music Magazine)

'The Piano Concerto No 2 is a barnstorming, big-hearted, tune-filled warhorse of a piece that audiences would love if they heard it' (Punch)

'Seta Tanyel's thoughtful and richly coloured new performances make a distinguished addition to the catalog … a winner. Strongly recommended' (Fanfare, USA)

Piano Concerto No 1 in A minor, Op 15 Edward MacDowell (1860-1908)
Second Modern Suite, Op 14
Piano Concerto No 2 in D minor, Op 23


Powered by WebRing.