Sunday, February 22, 2009

The Romantic Piano Concerto · Vol. 32 · Moscheles 1, 6 & 7

The Romantic Piano Concerto, Vol. 32 · Moscheles 1, 6 & 7
FLAC | Booklet | 285 MB | 2003

Howard Shelley (piano), Tasmanian Symphony Orchestra, Howard Shelley (conductor)

'I defy anyone not to be captivated by this delightful, witty, rhythmically vital and spontaneously inventive work, especially when played as stylishly as here' (International Record Review)

'Shelley’s expertise, his immaculate charm and brio cast a brilliant light on every page. His Tasmanian orchestra is with him all the way and Hyperion’s sound and balance are of demonstration quality. An exemplary issue; I can scarcely wait for Volume 3' (Gramophone)

'Shelley’s nimble, elegant playing, while leading his excellent Tasmanian players, is a musical wonder' (Classic FM Magazine)

'Howard Shelley and the Tasmanian Symphony Orchestra give solid accounts of these intriguing scores' (The Times)

'a thoroughly enjoyable disc' (BBC Music Magazine)

'Howard Shelley's account of the First, Sixth and Seventh of the eight Moscheles piano concertos provides powerful argument for their return to the repertoire' (International Piano)

'This disc … boldly captures the irresistible energy and sanguine life of Moscheles’ music' (Music Week)

'played with a taste and vivacity that reflect the temperament of the music … The thing that strikes you most about this music is its lively originality' (The Daily Telegraph)

'freshly performed and directed by Howard Shelley … No need for Hyperion to do anything other than hold their heads high over this one' (

Piano Concerto No 1 in F major, Op 45 Ignaz Moscheles (1794-1870)
Piano Concerto No 6 in B flat major 'Fantastique', Op 90
Piano Concerto No 7 in C minor 'Pathétique', Op 93


Powered by WebRing.