Wednesday, February 25, 2009

The Romantic Piano Concerto · Vol. 35 · Herz 1, 7 & 8

The Romantic Piano Concerto · Vol. 35 – Herz 1, 7 & 8
APE | Booklet | 233 MB | 2004

Howard Shelley (piano), Tasmanian Symphony Orchestra, Howard Shelley (conductor)

'If you've enjoyed previous volumes in Hyperion's Romantic Piano Concerto Series, you'll certainly warm to this delightful release' (BBC Music Magazine)

'Shelley makes even the most plainspun of phrases sound like long-lost treasure being discovered anew. First-rate accompaniment and resplendent sonics round out an unexpected delight' (Classic FM Magazine)

'There are few more dextrous or musicianly pianists then Shelley … and I am more than grateful for an artist who, like Herz himself, can make you think 'that a bird had escaped from his fingers and went undulating and singing through the air' (The New York Times in 1946)' (Gramophone)

'... Shelley et les Tasmaniens jouent avec une verve, une beauté de sonorité, un noble abandon qui attisent les bravos' (Diapason, France)

'Howard Shelley, who performs the dual role of piano soloist and orchestral director, delights in the charm and the considerable technical challenge of it all, and with his always fluent and controlled fingerwork, he makes it sound easy' (International Record Review)

Piano Concerto No 1 in A major, Op 34 Henri Herz (1803-1888)
Piano Concerto No 7 in B minor, Op 207
Piano Concerto No 8 in A flat major, Op 218



Powered by WebRing.